The complete guide : Online booking without commission: how to set it up
Free tool: Estimate my commission-free gains
Quick answer: if you want to leave Planity or compare before choosing, start with what you pay on returning clients. Treatwell and Fresha bring new clients through their marketplace, with fees on those new clients. Voxtya and other flat-price calendars (€29 a month, no commission) are mainly for keeping your regulars’ bookings direct.
Planity is widely used by hair and beauty salons in France: a calendar, online booking and an app where clients look for a salon. After a year, many owners ask the same question: how much does each appointment really cost me, and do I need a marketplace for clients who come back anyway? Here are the main alternatives, with public prices checked on 17 October 2026.
Planity and its alternatives: comparison table
| Tool | Public price | Commission | Commitment | Trial | Strengths |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Planity | Not listed on pro.planity.com | Our comparison: €2 to €5 per appointment | Not stated | Demo | App well known to clients in France |
| Treatwell | Not listed on the partner page | On the 1st booking of a new client who came via Treatwell | Not stated | Free sign-up | European beauty marketplace |
| Fresha | €14.95/month (independent) or €9.95 per member (team) | One-time fee on new clients from the marketplace | Monthly | 7 days | Online and in-salon payments |
| Booksy | $29.99/month + $20 per staff member (US pricing) | Optional Boost: 30% of the 1st visit, capped at $100 | Not stated | 14 days | Consumer app, optional Boost |
| Voxtya | €29/month per service (€23 billed yearly) | €0 | No commitment | 30 days free (card required) | Commission-free appointments, website, Google reviews, email reminders |
Updated 17 October 2026. Public prices checked on 17 October 2026 on each vendor’s official website (they can change: check before you sign). “Our comparison”: figure taken from our Voxtya vs that tool page, updated 14 October 2026. “Not listed”: the vendor does not publish a price and works through a demo or a quote.
Why look for a Planity alternative?
The reasons salon owners mention most often:
- The cost of repeat appointments. Most of your appointments come from clients who come back. If your tool charges per appointment, you also pay for them.
- The client relationship. On a marketplace, the client also sees nearby salons when she books.
- The need for a real website. A listing in an app does not replace a website in your name that Google can find.
- Price transparency. Some owners prefer a listed price, without a sales demo.
On the other hand, if your salon is new and needs clients, a marketplace is genuinely useful. The right choice depends on your situation, not on a ranking.
The Planity alternatives, one by one
Treatwell: the beauty marketplace
Treatwell puts your salon in front of clients looking for a treatment or a haircut. According to its partner page, the commission only applies to the first booking of a new client who came through Treatwell; the subscription is not listed there. Best for: a salon that wants new clients and is happy to pay to get them.
Fresha: the calendar with payments
Fresha lists its prices: €14.95 a month for an independent, €9.95 per team member per month, 7-day trial. Online payments cost 1.29% + €0.15 per transaction, and a one-time fee applies to new clients from its marketplace. Best for: a salon that wants to take payments (deposits, online payment) in the same tool.
Booksy: the consumer app
On its US pricing page, Booksy lists $29.99 a month, $20 per extra staff member and a 14-day trial. Its optional Boost takes 30% of a new client’s first visit (up to $100). Best for: a barber or salon targeting clients who are used to booking apps.
Voxtya: commission-free appointments + website + reviews
Voxtya Bookings has an appointment mode: services with their duration and buffer time, staff, “no preference” option, email confirmation and reminder the day before, cancellation link. The price is flat: €29 a month, whatever the number of appointments or stylists. Best for: an established salon that wants to keep its regulars direct, with a website and its Google reviews in the same place.
Which tool for which business?
- You are opening and need clients: a marketplace (Planity, Treatwell, Booksy) gets you seen straight away.
- You want to take deposits online: Fresha includes payments.
- Most appointments come from regulars: a flat-price calendar like Voxtya avoids paying on every return visit.
- You need a website and more Google reviews: Voxtya brings website, booking and review collection together.
- Both: nothing stops you keeping a marketplace for new clients and a direct link for regulars.
Voxtya, in plain terms
Voxtya is not a marketplace: it does not send you new clients from an app, it helps you get found on Google and keep your clients direct. The Bookings service costs €29 a month (€23 billed yearly). With the website, the Website + Bookings combo costs €49 a month. Reminders are sent by email. The trial lasts 30 days, with no commitment. The detailed differences with Planity are on our Voxtya vs Planity page.
Switching tools without losing appointments
- Export your client list and note the appointments already booked.
- Set up your services (duration, buffer) and staff in the new tool.
- Replace the booking link on your Google profile, your website and your Instagram bio.
- Let your regulars know by email or at the desk.
- Keep the old calendar until the appointments already booked have taken place.
Further reading
- Voxtya vs Planity: detailed comparison
- Hair salon booking software, no commission
- Booking software for beauty salons
- Guide: commission-free online booking
- Best hair salon booking software
- Calendly alternatives for salons
- Voxtya for hair and beauty salons
- Try bookings free for 30 days
Go further with Voxtya